August Training Stats

"What do I think about when I workout? Sometimes I fantasize about a world where I’m the ruler, chocolate makes you lose weight and everything is 95% off!"

22 Activities
  • 10 Runs
  • 9 Strength Training Sessions
  • 1 Hike
  • 1 Boot Camp
  • 1 Boxing Class
23 Hours
  • 15.25 Hours Running
  • 11 Hours Strength and/or Fitness Training
  • 3.75 Hours Hiking
89 Miles
  • 79 Miles Running
  • 10 Miles Hiking
10,800 Feet Elevation Gain
  • 8300 Feet Running
  • 2500 Feet Hiking
Lifting Stats
  • Total Sets: 151
    • Back: 50 (38.46%)
    • Legs: 36 (27.69%)
    • Chest: 18 (13.85%)
    • Shoulders: 13 (10%)
    • Abs: 13 (10%)
  • Total Reps: 1019
  • Total Volume: 27,341 kg
  • Farmer Carry PR at 48.1 kg

August was a weird month. I was coming down off the SOB 50K that I ran at the end of July, but I did run the Wildwood end to end (30.2 miles) three weeks after the race. It was one of those bucket list things I've been wanting to do for a while. Weight training switched from high volume to high intensity as I'm moving the weights back up. I'm still hoping to hit 136 kg on my squat, 181 kg on my dead lift and 102 kg on my bench press before the year's out.

I signed up for another 50K at Baker Lake on October 1st, so I'm going to be running hard again here for a couple weeks. I'm interested to see what the high intensity weight training does as far as my running goes. I didn't really like the high volume weight training. It always left me feeling more sore, and my short distance speed has definitely gone down since we were doing the more intense weight training this past spring. It'll be an interesting experiment to see if my speed picks back up.

Gotta love the cooler September weather in the PNW. Now we need just enough rain to soften the trails up!